About how Gorean slavery differs from BDSM

Gor vs BDSM


Is Gor but an aspect of BDSM? What are the similarities and differences between Gor and BDSM? This is a topic that has been addressed numerous times on message boards and in discussions. Yet, there is still confusion on this issue so there is reason to try once again to compare and contrast these two matters.

There are considered to be six parts to BDSM, the BD for Bondage and Discipline, the DS for dominance and submission, and the SM for sadism and masochism. BDSM relationships run the gamut from a simple “bedroom submissive” and her dominant partner, right through to a 24/7 total power exchange relationship that includes daily beatings and bloodlettings. In the middle of the wide ranging spectrum of relationships is every other pairing and kink that can be thought of.

Quote from Talra Audeburgh:

“This game is not BDSM. Gorean roleplay slaves have no rights, no safe words, no nothing. Are you new to this game, start as a free person. Its highly recommended”

Bondage

Bondage is universal in Gor, everywhere there are slaves being leashed, slaves being tied up, slaves being placed in cuffs, or hoods. There are chastity belts to prevent slaves having sex, there are gags to prevent them talking. There are numerous discourses on exactly how skilled a Gorean Warrior is at “capture knots”.

I strode irritably to the two girls. I did not release them. They had permitted themselves to be taken, to be used as bait. Vina was very young, but Telima should have known better, and yet she, too, the proud Telima, knelt helplessly at the ring, her wrists bound behind her back, securely and expertly gagged, a young and beautiful woman, yet fastened as helplessly to a slave ring as a young girl.
Raiders of Gor, Chapter 18

In training I, and the others, among many other things, had been accustomed to being secured, fastened, bound, in a variety of fashions. Some of these ties, doubtless by intent, are provocatively erotic.
Captive of Gor, Chapter 12

With a cry of misery I was thrown onto the beams of the rack. My left ankle was thrust into the semi-circular opening in the lower left ankle beam and the upper left ankle beam, with its matching semi-circular opening, was dropped, and locked, in place. My other ankle was similarly secured in the separate matching beams for the right ankle. The rape-rack at Tabuk’s Ford is a specially prepared horizontal stock, cut away in a V-shape at the lower end. My wrists were seized and my hair and I was thrown down on my back, wrists held in place, and my head, too, by my hair, in three semi-circular openings. A single beam, with matching semi-circular openings, on a heavy hinge, closes the stock. It was swung up and then dropped in place, and locked shut. I was now held in the stock, on my back, by my ankles, wrists and neck. I could move very little. I closed my eyes. I opened them to see a man above me. Looking up and back, my head down, I saw a piece of cloth in his hand. It was large. I wept as it was wadded, painfully, in my mouth. He then secured it in place with a narrow piece of folded cloth which slipped deeply between my teeth. He then, with another three scarves, covering the bottom portion of my face, one over the other, completed the task of gagging the slave girl. I could not utter a sound. I did not know why I had been gagged. My neck rested on the back of the semi-circular opening in the lower beam.
Slave Girl of Gor, Chapter 9

Yes, there are many ways to secure a slave for your pleasure, and they are all detailed in the Gorean Novels, leading me to conclude that Bondage is very much a part of Gorean Life.

Discipline

Discipline is an accepted fact of life for any Gorean Master, or slave, be it the self-discipline that helps them hold to the standards of behavior held to be correct. Or the discipline imposed by one person on another to correct misbehavior.

“You were beaten,” I said, “because you ran away. It was a light punishment, primarily admonitory in nature. You were actually quite fortunate. A girl who does what you did might be maimed or thrown to sleen or kaiila, and that he touched you with the whip, the Slaver’s Caress, that was only to show me, and perhaps you, that you were female.”
Nomads of Gor, Chapter 25

She was a good first girl. “Thank you, Mistress,” said one of the girls to her. “Be silent, Slave,” responded the red-haired girl. “Yes, Mistress,” responded the other. She was a good first girl. She, with her switch, maintained a harsh and perfect discipline among her charges, but she was not more cruel to them than it was customary to be with Gorean slaves.
Hunters of Gor, Chapter 15

Dominance

Gorean men simply are dominant, it’s not something they do, or something they put on and take off as it suits them. They simply are, in everything they do. Dominance is not being a bully; it is not exerting control or dishing out abuse. No, dominance is being effortlessly in control at all times, of himself and of those he owns. It is setting a standard for himself and his property and ensuring that it is met.

One need not speculate overly long, either, on the usual decision of the master, for most Gorean masters are vital, strong, dominant males.
Mercenaries of Gor, Chapter 5

They had not surrendered their manhood, their natural dominance. In his eyes, you see, I saw the firmness of His character, the strength of his will , which was as iron. In his eyes, in a sense, you see, I saw, unpretentious and untroubled, the severity, the simplicity, the strictness, the rigor, the uncompromising relentlessness of nature.
Witness of Gor, page 222

Submission

There are submissives and there are slaves, a submissive allows the use of her body and her services within boundaries she sets, her submission is never total, it is simply something she does. But the slave, the true slave is submission to her core, everything she does and everything she is is done simply to please the one that holds her leash. Her life and her limits are set by the one that owns her, not by herself. In total trust she has ceded control of her life to another, that is true submission.

She relishes his domination; she wants to be his; she rejoices to be owned; she loves to be his property, and to be regarded as, and treated as, what she is, his property. She is pleased to be subject to his discipline. She is pleased to know that there are penalties, and consequences, attached to any failure on her part to be pleasing. She wants it this way. This is, incidentally, extremely sexually stimulatory to her. Her bondage adds a particular dimension, a thrilling vividness, an edge, a special reality to her life, one unknown to free women. This is perhaps connected with the domination she craves, a relationship with a strong, uncompromising male, and the submission she yearns to yield, as a mastered female.
Captive of Gor, Chapter 16

Sadism

1. Psychiatry. The condition in which sexual gratification depends on causing pain or degradation to others.
2. any enjoyment in being cruel.
3. extreme cruelty.

Yes, there is sadism in Gor, it is not wanton in that the infliction of pain always has a purpose. It is done to remind the slave that they are beneath the free; it degrades them as people, teaching them at the end of the whip that they are rightless animals. Its more extreme forms seen in BDSM are not seen in the books, but we are told over and over that they can do anything they please to a slave, for any reason they please. They can even kill her, just because they want to.

“They whip us,” said Sandal Thong, “when it pleases them.”
Radish laughed, and slapped her thighs. “Yes,” she said, “the beasts! They put us under the leather whenever it pleases them, whether we have done anything or not!”
Slave Girl of Gor, Chapter 9

Too, some masters think it useful to tie and whip her occasionally, even if she is a model slave, simply to remind her of what she is, that she is a slave.
Captive of Gor, Chapter 13

Masochism

Where there is sadism, there is masochism; the two follow each other like night and day. Slaves come to crave that pain, that dominance, that rough uncompromising usage. A tender touch, a use that offers choices is not enough for a slave. They need that removal of rights, that appearance of force.
Could they not see that I, in order to attain my perfection, needed the weight of a chain, the taste of a whip? Could they not see that I could not be perfect until my will was taken from me, and I must serve will-lessly?
Kajira of Gor, Chapter 8

I moaned. I did not want polite love. I wanted to know that I was in the hands of a man who was capable of being excited, and whom I excited, who found me truly marvelous, to whose fury of power I appealed, whose fierce and voracious appetites I triggered. I wanted to be in the arms of a true man. I did not want to be possibly mistaken about whether I had been had or not. I did not want to be touched as though I might break. I did not wish to be in danger of drowsing off during the making of love. I wanted him to own and master me, and whip me if I was not pleasing.
Dancer of Gor, Chapter 13

Want to read the full article? go here


© Lunacaleengpanthers/Wiki

Leave a Reply

