About poisons and sedatives of Gor, in sickness and in hell

Potions and herbs


 

Cosian Wingfish:

“Now this,” Saphrar the merchant was telling me, “is the braised liver of the blue, four-spired Cosian wingfish.”
This fish is a tiny, delicate fish, blue, about the size of a tarn disk when curled in one’s hand; it has three or four slender spines in its dorsal fin, which are poisonous; it is capable of hurling itself from the water and, for brief distances, on its stiff pectoral fins, gliding through the air, usually to evade the smaller sea-tharlarions, which seem to be immune to the poison of the spines.

Nomads of Gor, pg. 84

Frobicain:

“They seem very quiet,” I observed. ‘We permit them,” said Flaminius, deigning to offer a bit of explanation, “five Ahn of varied responses, depending on when they recover from the frobicain injection. Mostly this takes the form of hysterical weeping, threats, demands for explanation, screaming and such. They will also be allowed to express their distress for certain periods at stated times in the future.”

Assassin of Gor, pg. 126

Gieron & Sajel:

“My pursuit of you was foiled,” I said, “by the results of the drug you placed in my paga.”
“The drug,” said Shaba, “was a simple combination of sajel, a simple pustulant, and gieron, an unusual allergen.
Mixed they produce a facsimile of the superficial symptoms of Bazi plague.”
“I could have been killed,” I said. “by the mob.”
“I did not think many would care to approach you,” said Shaba.
“It was not your intention then that I be killed?” I asked.
“Certainly not,”. said Shaba. “If that was all that was desired, kanda might have been introduced into your drink as easily as sajel and gieron.”

Explorers of Gor, pg. 154-155

Kanda:

On the twentieth day of the siege there was great rejoicing in the camp of Pa-Kur, because in one place the wires had been cut and a squad of spearmen had reached the main siege reservoir, emptying their barrels of toxic kanda, a lethal poison extracted from one of Gor’s desert shrubs. The city would now have to depend primarily on its private wells and the hope of rain.

Tarnsman of Gor, pg. 179

Tobacco is unknown on Gor, though there are certain vices or habits to take its place, in particular the stimulation afforded by chewing on the leaves of the Kanda plant, the roots of which, oddly enough, when ground and dried, constitute an extremely deadly poison.

Priest Kings of Gor, pg. 24-25

The roots of the kanda plant, which grows largely in desert regions on Gor, are extremely toxic, but, surprisingly, the rolled leaves of this plant, which are relatively innocuous, are formed into strings and, chewed or sucked, are much favored by many Goreans, particularly in the southern hemisphere, where the leaf is more abundant.

Nomads of Gor, pg. 43

Mixed with the blood and fluids of the body there was a smear of white at the end of the steel, the softened residue of a glaze of kanda paste, now melted by body heat, which had coated the tip of the blade.

Assassin of Gor, pg. 42

Some locks, on the compartments of rich persons, or on the storehouses of merchants, the treasuries of cities, and so on, are knife locks or poison locks; the knife lock, when tampered with, releases a blade, or several of them, with great force, sometimes from behind the individual at the lock. On the other hand, knife locks are seldom effective against an individual who knows what to look for. Much more dangerous is the poison lock, because the opening through which the tiny pins, usually coated with a paste formed from kanda root, can emerge can be extremely small, almost invisible to the eye, easy to overlook in the crevices and grillwork of the commonly heavy, ornate Gorean lock.

Assassin of Gor, pg. 52

I examined the paws of the kailla. I found that for which I searched inserted in the right forepaw of the animal. I removed from its paw the tiny, rounded ball of wax, held in place by threads: within the wax, which would soon, in the riding and pounding, and by the heat of the animal’s body, disintegrate, concealed. I found a needle; I smelled it; it was smeared with kanda, a deadly toxin, prepared from the ground roots of the kanda bush. I wiped the needle, with a ripping from my shirt sleeve, cleaning it, and discarded needle and cloth in a refuse pile.

Tribesmen of Gor, pg. 132

In one sleeve, in a tiny, narrow sheath, he found a needle, which he held up. Then he approached the bath. She shrank back, frightened. He washed the needle, dried it on a towel and replaced it in the sheath. I had not known the sheath and needle were there, so cunningly had they been concealed in the weaving.
He looked at her.
I had little doubt the needle had been poisoned, probably with Kanda.

Slave Girl of Gor, pg. 392

“The bolts,” said the man, indicating the missiles at rest in the guides of the weapons, “are tipped with kanda. The slightest scratch from them will finish you.”
“I see you are not of the assassins,” I said. It is a matter of pride for members of that caste to avoid the use of poisoned steel. Too, their codes forbid it.

Beasts of Gor, pg. 141

On the first finger of his left hand he wore a fang ring, which, I had little doubt, would contain a poison, probably that of the deadly kanda plant.

Explorers of Gor, pg. 151

March Mocassin:

“That is a marsh moccasin,” I said.
“Are they poisonous,” she asked.
“Yes,” I said.
“I never saw one before,” she said.
“They are not common,” I said, “even in the delta.”

Vagabonds of Gor, pg. 267

“Like the ost?” she asked.
“What?” I asked.
“Are they poisonous, the marsh moccasins, like the ost?” she said.
“They are quite poisonous,” I said, “but their venom, as I understand it, does not compare to that of the ost.”
“Could I survive its bite?” she asked.
“Possibly,” I said. “I do not know.”

Vagabonds of Gor, pg. 268

Ost:

I was scarcely aware of the brief whimpering of the Paravaci as, twisting and turning on the rug, biting at it,holding his arm, his flesh turning orange from ost venom, he writhed and died.
Kamchak walked to him and tore away the mask. I saw the contorted, now-orange, twisted, agonized face. Already it was like colored paper and peeling, as though lit and burned from the inside. There were drops of blood and sweat on it.

Nomads of Gor, pg. 318

The banded ost is a variety of ost, a small, customarily brilliantly orange Gorean reptile. It is exceedingly poisonous. The banded ost is yellowish orange and is marked with black rings.

Assassin of Gor, pg. 335

“In time,” said the small man, “you will receive a packet of poison.”
I nodded, numbly. Rask of Treve must not die! He must not die!
“You will be placed in the house of Bosk, a merchant of Port Kar,” he said. “You will be placed in the kitchen of that house, and you will be used to serve his table.”

The small man held up a tiny packet. “This,” he said, “is the poison, a powder prepared from the venom of the ost.”
I shuddered. Death by ost venom is among the most hideous of deaths.

Captive of Gor, pg. 357

I took the packet of poison from my rep-cloth kitchen tunic, and dissolved it in the wine. I had been told there was enough there to bring a hundred men to an excruciating death. I swirled the wine, and discarded the packet.

Captive of Gor, pg. 359

Slaves:

For example it is possible to breed a girl whose saliva will be poisonous; such a woman, placed in the Pleasure Gardens of an enemy, can be more dangerous than the knife of an Assassin.

Assassin of Gor, pg. 115

Shortly thereafter Maximus Hegesius Quintilius was found dead, poisoned by the bite of a girl in his Pleasure Gardens, who, before she could be brought before the Scribes of the Law, was strangled by enraged Taurentians, to whom she had been turned over;

Assassin of Gor, pg. 233-234

I put down my head. “Command me, Master,” I begged, Elinor Brinton, a cowering Gorean slave girl.
“It is our intention,” he said, “to have you trained as a slave girl, to give exquisite pleasures to a master. And then you will be placed in a certain house.”
“Yes, Master?” I asked.
“And,” he said, “in this house, you will poison its master.”
I looked at him with horror.

Captive of Gor Page 154
(The poison used here is Ost.)

Maximus Hegesius Quintilius was later found assassinated in his own pleasure gardens, slain there by the bite of a chemically prepared poison girl, one killed by Taurentians before she could be questioned.

Mercenaries of Gor, pg. 247

Tassa Powder:

When the hood, with its gag, had been removed from me, I had been forced, sitting in the courtyard, my head back and nose held, to swallow a draft of water, into which a reddish powder had been mixed. I had shortly thereafter lost consciousness.
I closed my eyes. The image of the woman had been blurred.
… “You have recovered more quickly than I had anticipated from the Tassa powder,” she said.

Fighting Slave of Gor, pg. 222-223

“In the courtyard below,” I said, “I was drugged.”
“It was done by Tassa powder,” she said.
“It was tasteless, and effective,” I said.
“Slavers sometimes use it,” she said. “It is well for a girl not to drink with a strange man,” she laughed.
“It shows up, of course,” I said, “in water.”
“It is meant to be mixed with red wine,” she said.
“Of course,” I said.

Fighting Slave of Gor, pg. 223-224

In a few moments he had had fellow bring a tray with the sul porridge and two cups of wine to the counter. I paid him.
“Oh, by the way,” I asked, “do you have a packet of Tassa powder?”
He grinned and reached under the counter. “Yes,” he said handing it to me.
“How much do I owe you for this?” I asked.
“For that one,” he said, “it is free. Take it with the compliments of the house.
“Very well,” I said.

“You were drugged,” I told her.
She shook her head. She looked at me. I did not think she could yet well focus on me.
“You should not have drunk my wine,” I told her.

Rogue of Gor, pg. 45-46

“Is the Tassa powder ready, and the goblets of welcome?” asked Callimachus of a man.
“Yes, Captain,” he said, grimly, “but there is far too little for so many.”

Guardsman of Gor, pg. 110

Unspecified:

The girl, Sana, whom I carried on the saddle before me, would dress in the heavy robes and veils of the Ubar’s daughter and return in her place to the interior of the cylinder. Presumably, it would be at least a matter of minutes before her identity was discovered, and, before that, she would take the poison provided by the Council.

Tarnsman of Gor, pg. 69

Sana had insisted that I keep the pellet of poison which the Council had given me to spare her from the otherwise inevitable tortures that would follow the disclosure of her identity in the cylinders of Ar.

Tarnsman of Gor, pg. 72-73

She was a captive female, and must, naturally, submit to her assessment as prize; she must also be, incidentally, examined for weapons; a dagger or poisoned needle is often concealed in the clothing of free women.

Nomads of Gor, pg. 37

…he also had two teeth of gold, which were visible when he laughed, the upper canine teeth, probably containing poison; merchants are seldom trained in the use of arms.

Nomads of Gor, pg. 85

“A contaminant?” I asked.
“Poisoned steel,” he said.
I said nothing.
“Sullius Maximus,” he said, “is in Tyros.”
“I would not have thought Saurus of Tyros would have used poisoned steel,” I said. Such a device, like the poisoned arrow, was not only against the codes of the warriors, but, generally, was regarded as unworthy of men. Poison was regarded as a woman’s weapon.
Iskander shrugged.
“Sullius Maximus, ” he said,” invented such a drug. He tested it, by pin pricks, on the limbs of a captured enemy, paralyzing him from the neck down. He kept him seated at his right side, as a guest in regal robes, for more than a week. When he tired of the sport he had him killed.”
“Is there no antidote?” I asked.
“No,” said Iskander.

Marauders of Gor, pg. 18-19

“The poison,” said he, “that which lay upon the blades of the men of Sarus of Tyros, lurks yet in your body.”
“There is no antidote,” I told him. “This I had from Iskander of Turia, who knew the toxin.”
“Warrior,” said the man who stood with Samos, “I bring the antidote.”

Marauders of Gor, pg. 282

He removed a vial from his pouch. It contained a purplish fluid.
“Has it been tested?” asked Samos.
“On the body of Sullius Maximus,” said Sarus. “On the tenth day, on his arms and legs, and twice, transversely, across his right cheekbone, that his face be scarred and his shame known, I drew the poisoned blade, drawing blood with each stroke.”
I smiled. Sullius Maximus was a handsome man, extremely vain, even foppish. He would not appreciate the alteration of his physiognomy, wrought by the blade of Sarus.
“Within seconds,” said Sarus, “the spiteful fluid took its effect. The eyes of Sullius were wild with fear. ‘The antidote! The antidote!’ he begged. We sat him in a curule chair, vested as a Ubar, and left him. We wished the poison to work, to be truly fixed within his system. The next day, when the bar of noon was struck on the wharves, we administered to him the antidote. It was effective.

Marauders of Gor, pg. 284

The warrior then went to the side of the tub, crouching near what had been the side to her right. She stepped back in the water, away from him. He brushed back the foam. Carefully he examined the wall of the tub. In moments he had retrieved the tiny dagger which lay there, in its small compartment, concealed behind a tile. He cleaned the poison from the side of the dagger, dried it with a towel, as he had the needle, and then threw it to the side of the room, where lay her robe, which he had earlier discarded. I had not known of the existence of either the compartment or the small, poisoned weapon which it concealed.

Slave Girl of Gor, pg. 393


© Lunacaleengpanthers/Wiki

Leave a Reply

